Remote Code Development on Termux using VS Code and Neovim

alpha2phi
3 min readDec 21, 2020

Overview

In my article on setting up a development environment on Android devices, I showed how you can install and configure Neovim, Emacs, and Visual Studio Code onto the device. In this article, I am going to walk through how to use VS Code and Neovim to perform remote code development.

Remote Code Development

For both VS Code and Neovim remote code development, the SSH server must be running on the remote machine. Since I have already set up OpenSSH in the previous article, I will not go through the steps here again.

Prerequisite for Visual Studio Code

VS Code Remote SSH only supports glibc based Linux distributions. Since we are using Termux on Android devices, there is an additional step for us to set up Ubuntu in Termux.

Follow the instructions here to set up ubuntu-in-termux.

Once I get the Ubuntu prompt, I need to install OpenSSH for the Ubuntu instance.

root@localhost:~# apt-get updateroot@localhost:~# apt-get install openssh-server

Install dependant libraries required by VS Code.

root@localhost:~# apt-get install build-essential -y

Add the following line to /etc/ssh/sshd_config to allow root login.

PermitRootLogin yes

--

--

alpha2phi

Software engineer, Data Science and ML practitioner.